Ride The Sun – Ride The Sun [EP]

Release Date: August 2010.

Record Label: Unsigned.

Ride The Sun, based in San Diego, California, play a retro-sounding blend of raunchy loud rock.

The unsigned quartet of: Lydell Arboleda (guitar and vocals), Josh Caldwell (guitar and vocals), Kip Page (bass) and Dominic Caltagirone (drums), wear their influences as badges of honour, while chugging beer and shaking their money-makers.

‘Goin’ Down’ is an example of straightforward hard rock, that was being pressed to vinyl in the mid-70s. The Gibson gritty blues, pioneered by ZZ Top, sets the album alight.

‘Compadre’ continues the gutsy blues-tinged, southern rock affair, while ‘Livin’ Wrong’ adds thick, stoner-friendly grooves to the mix.

The two standout tracks however are left until the last eleven minutes of the EP. ‘Evil Reasons’ has a classic 70’s rock vibe that transports the listener back to a time where Ritchie Blackmore’s licks and solos, were commonplace.

‘Ride’ however, is a smokin’, tire burning end to the EP, blasting out southern-fried rock and brutal licks, is one of the standout rock tracks of the year.

Ride The Sun’s thick sounding, leather and denim clad style, is piping hot and should be enjoyed with a well-distilled glass or two of Tennessee whiskey.


Leave a Reply